A Letter from the South Dakota Auctioneers Association President

Ted Souvignier – SDAA President

Greetings SDAA Members,

My name is Ted Souvignier and I am excited and honored to serve my term as the 2023-2024 SDAA President. I am looking forward to an eventful year and hope everyone has a successful auction season. Congratulations to Terry and Kate for hosting a successful convention this past June in Brandon and thank you for all the work you put in over this last year. Congratulations also to our newest Hall of Fame member, Randy Owen, on his well-deserved induction. A special thank you to the convention speakers, Mike Fisher and Brian Gatzke and his crew for the twelve hours of education we received.

Next year’s convention will be held June 6-8 at the Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, located at 5300 S. Grand Circle on the south side of Sioux Falls near the junction of Louise Avenue and I-229. Please do not confuse this with the Hilton in downtown Sioux Falls. You may reserve your rooms now through May 20, 2024 by calling the hotel at 605-444-4500. The room block is reserved for Wednesday through Saturday, so I guarantee the hospitality room WILL be open on Wednesday night!

My wife, Emily, is also looking forward to hosting the ladies’ events at next year’s convention and already has some exciting outings and activities on the agenda.

As many of you know, it was a busy winter working in Pierre as we were fighting to get our Restricted Broker’s License re-instated. The rules have now been changed back to the way they were pre-2019. You may review the new or re-instated rules on the South Dakota Real Estate Commission website. Thank you to our lobbyists Larry Nelson and Sam Nelson for all their time in assisting us and to all the SDAA members who came to Pierre to show their support and for all the hard work put into this matter.

I am looking forward to the upcoming State Bid Calling Contest in Huron on Sunday, September 3rd at _2:00 PM__ which will be hosted by last year’s champion, Clayton Keck. There we will be raising funds for both our association and for the South Dakota Youth Foundation. I strongly recommend that if you haven’t participated in the past, or if you know of a young auctioneer just getting started, please come and join in on the fun.

On that same note, it is never too early to start thinking about the Black Hills Stock Show Bid Calling Contest, which will be held near the end of January 2024 in Rapid City. A more specific date and time will be included in the next newsletter.

I hope everyone has been enjoying their summer and best wishes for a prosperous auction season.


Ted Souvignier
2023-2024 SDAA President

Outgoing-president Terry Brick, left receiving his gavel from Incoming-president Ted Souvignier, Canton SD
Incoming President Ted Souvignier, Canton SD receiving the Warren Bessman Memorial Traveling Brief Case from Warren’s Brother and Hall of fame member Wayne Bessman, Madison SD
2023 People’s Choice Winner Justin Dean, Artesian SD receiving his award from 2022 People’s Choice winner Scott Moore, Centerville SD
People’s Choice Winners – Front L to R: 2007 Val Luckett, Wessington Springs SD; 2017 Clayton Keck, St Lawrence SD; 2015 Jared Sutton, Sioux Falls SD; 2012 Jeff Storm, Custer SD; Back L to R: 2021 Ken Girard, Wakonda SD; 2023 Justin Dean, Artesian SD; 2016 Randy Owen, Watertown SD; 2022 Scott Moore, Centerville SD; 2018 Ron Bradeen, Custer SD; 2014 Bill Eckert, Okaton SD
Incoming 2022 President Terry Brick of Brandon SD presenting outgoing President Scott Moore Centerville SD his Gavel and plaque
Presenting 2021 Peoples Choice award President Curt Littau to 2021 Peoples Choice winner Ken Girard
Presenting the Warren Bessman Memorial Brief Case is Wayne Bessman to
incoming President Scott Moore
People’s Choice Past winners:
Back Row: 2015 Jared Sutton, 2020 Tucker Petrak, 2009 Ben Meyer, 2007 Val Luckett, 2017 Clayton Keck, 2014 Bill Eckert, 2016 Randy Owen
Front: 2018 Ron Bradeen, 2021 Ken Girard, 2012 Jeff Storm
2021 Peoples Choice
People’s Choice Winner Tucker Petrak of Chamberlain SD receiving his award
from the 2017 People’s Choice Winner Clayton Keck from St Lawrence SD.
Notice Proud Dad Moment as President Ted Petrak Chamberlain SD looks on.

2019-2020 South Dakota Auctioneers Association President
Ted Petrak, Chamberlain, SD

Wayne Bessman presenting 2019-2020 SDAA President Ted Petrak
the traveling briefcase in memory or Warren Bessman

2019 Peoples Choice
2019 People’s Choice – Back L to R: 2019 Brad Veurink Corisca, SD; 2017 Clayton Keck St Lawrence, SD; 2008 Dan Clark Winner SD; 2014 William (Bill) Eckert Okaton SD; 2009, Ben Meyer Huron SD;
Front L to R: 2015 Jared Sutton Flandreau SD; 2018 Ron Bradeen Custer SD; 2012 Jeff Storm Custer SD; 2011 Don Sweeter Worthing SD; 2007 Val Luckett, Wessington Springs SD.
2019 People's Choice Winner
2019 People’s Choice Winner Brad Veurink Corisca SD pictured with 2018 Peoples Choice Ron Bradeen Custer SD

Wayne Bessman presenting 2018-2019 SDAA President Ken Girard the traveling briefcase in memory or Warren Bessman

Wayne Bessman presenting 2018-2019 SDAA President Ken Girard
the traveling briefcase in memory or Warren Bessman

SDAA Peoples Choice Winners: Back L to R 2016 Randy Owen Watertown SD, 2013 Vernell Qualm Platte SD, 2011 Don Sweeter Worthing SD, 2008 Dan Clark Winner SD, 2012 Jeff Storm Custer SD, 2009 Ben Meyer Huron SD, Front L to R 2017 Clayton Keck St Lawrence SD, 2007 Val Luckett Wessington Springs, SD, 2018 Ron Bradeen Custer SD, 2015 Jared Sutton Flandrea. Started the Peoples Choice award in 2007
SDAA Hall of Fame members present at the 2018 SDAA State Convention.
Back L to R: 2016 Marlin Fjelland Clark SD, 2015 Dan Clark Winner SD, 2004 Don Sweeter Worthing SD, 2002 Dale McPerson Rapid City SD, 2015 Wayne Bessman Madison SD, 2006 Vernell Qualm Platte SD, 2016 Terry Haiar Alexandria SD, 2017 Judson Seaman Rapid City SD, 2017 Tom Souvignier Canton SD
Front L to R: 2011 Marvin Girard Wakonda SD, 2018 Richard Wieman Marion SD, 2007 Darwin Fox DeSmet SD, 2012 Chuck Sutton Flandreau SD
Warren Bessman
Wayne Bessman presenting 2017-2018 SDAA President Ben Meyer the traveling briefcase in memory or Warren Bessman
Past Hall of Fame
Past Hall of Fame Recipients at Convention: Back Row L to R: Wayne Bessman, Chuck Sutton, Dan Clark, Don Sweeter, Marlin Fjelland, Terry Haiar, Vernell Qualm, Marv Girard
Front Row L to R: Dale McPherson, Tom Souvignier, Judson Seaman, Bob Penfield
Ben Meyer presenting gavel to out-going President Val Luckett
Ben Meyer presenting gavel to out-going President Val Luckett
2017 People's Choice winner Clayton Keck
2017 People’s Choice winner Clayton Keck, St Lawrence, SD.
Past Peoples Choice
Past People’s Choice – Back Row L to R: Randy Owen, Dan Clark, Bill Eckert, Jeff Storm, Don Sweeter, Ben Meyer
Front Row L to R: Val Luckett, Clayton Keck, Jared Sutton
2016 Hall of Fame
2016 Hall of Fame
People’s Choice award Randy Owen given by 2015 winner Jared Sutton.
2015 Peoples Choice
Scroll to Top