From the President


Scott Moore – SDAA President

Greetings SDAA Members,

I hope this letter finds you all doing well and enjoying as many fun summer activities as possible before school and the fall auction season starts again.  Mother Nature is showing her power as a few of you have received some beneficial moisture but most of you are like us in the southeast corner and are extremely dry.  Hopefully she will  change her ways and give everyone some timely rains, but as the saying goes, we take what the good Lord gives us.

First of all, thank you for the honor of serving as president of this great association for the 2021-2022 term.  I am looking forward to all the upcoming activities this association is a part of.  Congratulations to Curt Littau on a successful year as our president and for the great convention he and Melody put on for us in Ft. Pierre.  I’d also like to send out a huge congratulations to Val Jark on the well deserved honor of being inducted into the SD Auctioneer’s Hall of Fame for 2021.  If its been awhile since you have attended or have never attended the convention I personally invite you to seriously think about joining us in Brandon at the Holiday Inn Express on June 9, 10, 11, 2022.  My wife, Natalie, and I hope you bring your kids/grandkids as we are hoping to make this convention family friendly and the hotel has a very nice pool area.

Another date to mark on the calendar is Sunday, September 5, 2021 as we will be hosting our bid calling contest at the SD State Fair in Huron.  This is always a great contest and gives us a chance to promote our auction industry by allowing the crowd to hear the good ol’ auction chant from not only the contestants but the past champions and Hall of Fame members that are in attendance.  This is not only a great fundraiser for our association but we also raise money for the SD Youth Foundation by selling items that were donated to them.

The Black Hills Stock Show will be here before we know it and its not to early to think about getting signed up for the 2022 auction contest.  Stay tuned for the exact date and time.

Wishing you all a great fall/winter auction season and to all you farmers a safe and bountiful harvest.

Sell It The Auction Way!


Scott Moore

2021-2022 SDAA President

Presenting 2021 Peoples Choice award President Curt Littau to 2021 Peoples
Choice winner Ken Girard

Presenting the Warren Bessman Memorial Brief Case is Wayne Bessman to
incoming President Scott Moore


People’s Choice Past winners:
Back Row: 2015 Jared Sutton, 2020 Tucker Petrak, 2009 Ben Meyer, 2007 Val Luckett, 2017 Clayton Keck, 2014 Bill Eckert, 2016 Randy Owen
Front: 2018 Ron Bradeen, 2021 Ken Girard, 2012 Jeff Storm
2021 Peoples Choice
People’s Choice Winner Tucker Petrak of Chamberlain SD receiving his award
from the 2017 People’s Choice Winner Clayton Keck from St Lawrence SD.
Notice Proud Dad Moment as President Ted Petrak Chamberlain SD looks on.

2019-2020 South Dakota Auctioneers Association President
Ted Petrak, Chamberlain, SD

Wayne Bessman presenting 2019-2020 SDAA President Ted Petrak
the traveling briefcase in memory or Warren Bessman

2019 Peoples Choice
2019 People’s Choice – Back L to R: 2019 Brad Veurink Corisca, SD; 2017 Clayton Keck St Lawrence, SD; 2008 Dan Clark Winner SD; 2014 William (Bill) Eckert Okaton SD; 2009, Ben Meyer Huron SD;
Front L to R: 2015 Jared Sutton Flandreau SD; 2018 Ron Bradeen Custer SD; 2012 Jeff Storm Custer SD; 2011 Don Sweeter Worthing SD; 2007 Val Luckett, Wessington Springs SD.


2019 People's Choice Winner
2019 People’s Choice Winner Brad Veurink Corisca SD pictured with 2018 Peoples Choice Ron Bradeen Custer SD

Wayne Bessman presenting 2018-2019 SDAA President Ken Girard the traveling briefcase in memory or Warren Bessman

Wayne Bessman presenting 2018-2019 SDAA President Ken Girard
the traveling briefcase in memory or Warren Bessman

SDAA Peoples Choice Winners: Back L to R 2016 Randy Owen Watertown SD, 2013 Vernell Qualm Platte SD, 2011 Don Sweeter Worthing SD, 2008 Dan Clark Winner SD, 2012 Jeff Storm Custer SD, 2009 Ben Meyer Huron SD, Front L to R 2017 Clayton Keck St Lawrence SD, 2007 Val Luckett Wessington Springs, SD, 2018 Ron Bradeen Custer SD, 2015 Jared Sutton Flandrea. Started the Peoples Choice award in 2007
SDAA Hall of Fame members present at the 2018 SDAA State Convention.
Back L to R: 2016 Marlin Fjelland Clark SD, 2015 Dan Clark Winner SD, 2004 Don Sweeter Worthing SD, 2002 Dale McPerson Rapid City SD, 2015 Wayne Bessman Madison SD, 2006 Vernell Qualm Platte SD, 2016 Terry Haiar Alexandria SD, 2017 Judson Seaman Rapid City SD, 2017 Tom Souvignier Canton SD
Front L to R: 2011 Marvin Girard Wakonda SD, 2018 Richard Wieman Marion SD, 2007 Darwin Fox DeSmet SD, 2012 Chuck Sutton Flandreau SD
Warren Bessman
Wayne Bessman presenting 2017-2018 SDAA President Ben Meyer the traveling briefcase in memory or Warren Bessman
Past Hall of Fame
Past Hall of Fame Recipients at Convention: Back Row L to R: Wayne Bessman, Chuck Sutton, Dan Clark, Don Sweeter, Marlin Fjelland, Terry Haiar, Vernell Qualm, Marv Girard
Front Row L to R: Dale McPherson, Tom Souvignier, Judson Seaman, Bob Penfield
Ben Meyer presenting gavel to out-going President Val Luckett
Ben Meyer presenting gavel to out-going President Val Luckett
2017 People's Choice winner Clayton Keck
2017 People’s Choice winner Clayton Keck, St Lawrence, SD.
Past Peoples Choice
Past People’s Choice – Back Row L to R: Randy Owen, Dan Clark, Bill Eckert, Jeff Storm, Don Sweeter, Ben Meyer
Front Row L to R: Val Luckett, Clayton Keck, Jared Sutton
2016 Hall of Fame
2016 Hall of Fame
People’s Choice award Randy Owen given by 2015 winner Jared Sutton.
2015 Peoples Choice